Youth Association Md. Ali park celebrating 47 years of Durga puja since 1969.


 Started in the year 1969 from Tara Chand Dutt Street. But due to increasing no. of devotees, the Puja was shifted to Md. Ali park.

Our main goal is to set an example of unity in diversity by organising Durga puja at Md Ali Park. This can only happen in India and every year we all strengthen our unity spirit by celeberating the puja of Maa Durga in a huge manner.
Youth Association was established in 1969. This is one of the most prestigious clubs of North Kolkata. In the past few years Md. Ali park emerged with new thoughts and has generated tremendous interest in the mind of the viewers.
The Puja of Youth Association was started in 1969 in front of 39, Tara Chand Dutta Street. The puja started in 1969 because of the Famous Fire Brigade Puja was closed in 1968. The founders of the Puja are Sri Sanwarmal Joshi, Sri Surendra Kumar Sharma, Late Sushil Kumar Sharma, Late Jagdish Prasad Agarwal, Sri Nawal Kishore Gupta of Kashinath Mullic Street. The Main contributors in the Puja of 1st year were Sri Jagdish Ji Agarwal & Sri Nawal Kishore Gupta. The 1st budget of the Puja was Rs. 500 (Total Expences).
In the year 1970 there were many young boys attached with this Puja, even being a Muslim Mr. Gama Mia, cooperated with this Puja as a member.
In the year 1971 the new committee was formed with Late Nandlal Murmuria (President), Sri Binod Kumar Sharma (General Secretary), Sri Shankarlal Agarwal (Treasurer), Sri Sanwarmal joshi, Sri Surendra Kumar Sharma, Sri Ramawatar Lakkar, Sri Sushil Sharma, Sri Subhas Kapoor, Sri Radheyshham Choudhary, Sri Brijendra Sharma, Sri Pahari Chand Shaw, Sri Sushil Swamy and others. Since 1972, the Puja gradually became famous in the locality of Burra Bazar.
In the year 1973, Binod Sharma met with  an accident and he was admitted in the hospital for a long time. A meeting was called  in his house which included Sri Amar Chand Lakhotia, Ram Niranjan Ruia, Hemchand Jain, Omprakash Modi, Naresh Jain, Surendra Kumar Sharma. After consulting with them, new committee of Youth Association was formed, as Binod Kumar Sharma was not in the position to take active part in organizing the Puja.
In the year 1974, a new committee was formed under the presidentship of Sri Amar Chandji Lakhotia, Sri Hem Chandra Jain(Working President), Sri Omprakash Modi(Gen. Secy.), Sri Ramniranji Ruia (Treasurer), Sri Naresh Jain, Sri Surendra Kumar Sharma, Sri Narottom Sharma, Sri Banwarilal Goeal,Sri Banwarilal Jalan, Sri Subhas Kapoor, Sri Sanwarmal Joshi, Sri Jagdish Mitra, Sri Kamal Kumar Lakhoti, Sri Raj Grihi Singh and others. Sri Ram Niranjan Ruia  brought Mr.Ravi Balin of Orient Decorator to our Puja site and insisted him to decorate our Puja Pandal. Finally Mr. Balin installed the pandal with the beauty of Famous KALAMANDIR model. Our president Sri Amar Chand Lakhotia and all members of 7 committee was very happy to see the pandal.
In the year 1975 Sri Surendra Kumar Sharma took the charge of General Secretary. During his tenure, our Pandal was designed with the beauty of a famous Temple of South India, “Meenakshi Temple”.
In the year 1976 we faced some problems from the Government side because of huge crowd of the locality of Tara Chand Dutta Street. But the committee manage it carefully.
In the year 1977 we discusds with the Government about the crowd problem and shifted our Pandal from Tara Chand Dutta Street to Md. Ali Park. On that time we, the whole committee approached our well wishers like Sri Dewkinandan Poddar (M.L.A), Sri Ashok Sen (M.P), Abdul Raut Ansari(M.L.A) and many V.I.P person of our area to help us. Then finally we lodged a case against W.B.Govt. in High Court and opted the stay order. After that Md. Ameen ( Transport Minister) offered an alternate place at Md. Ali Park to perform the Puja.
In the history of puja from 1969 to 2011 various high dignitaries inaugurated and visted our puja. Shri. Pranab Mukherjee now the president of india, Shri Ashok Sen, Law Minister, Priyaranjan Das Munshi, Shubhroto Mukherjee, Barik Baran Das, Prafulla Kanti Ghosh, Ramkrishna Sarohi and others. In the year 1978 final is was transfer to Md. Ali Park. There was only one Gate, in the year of 1978 there was a lot of problem in Md. Ali Park but we have to face together. We five to six members together are staying in the park for five days. Finally the problem was solved in the year of 1983. The second gate of Md. Ali Park was built by Youth Association associated with sri satyanarayan ji bajaj of Steelco furniture. Sri Bajaj ji agreed to pay half the charges for 2nd gate in the year of 1984 .Sri Satya Narayan ji Bajaj became the chairman of puja committee, Youth association Md. Ali Park. In the year of 1984 Karmi Brinda took the charge of pandal and the puja was grand success.Honouable Governor, Sri. A.L Das  innaugrated the puja, from 1984 to 1990. Sri Rajesh Khaitan (MLA) became the chairman & Shri Shyam Sundar Poddar become the vice chairman of puja committee. Then Sri Satyanarayan Narayan Bajaj Ex. MLA became the chairman. In their leadership the puja committee organised many welfare project like Blood Donation, free distribution of cloth to the poor people, free books to the needy children ,  Daridra Narayan Bhojan etc. By the similar efforts of the president Late Sri. Amar Chand Ji Lakhotia, working president Sri Hem Chand ji Jain, Organisers Sri Naresh Jain and Binod Sharma along with other members of committee, puja became famous to an extent that  now it is one of the biggest pujas in Kolkata. We  also publish a beautiful sovenier and we have also donated sometimes to the governers relief fund and chief ministers relief fund.
Md.Ali Park
No Records Here
Now this committee is associated with this puja from the year 1990 till today
Our Committee Member
Home    Aboutus    Gallery    Contact us
© Copyright Md. Ali Park 2012. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by:Supercon Infoservices Pvt.Ltd Created by Sanjeev Sharma